I Tried The Ethiopian Butter Treatment in My Hair

 

Despite the fact that I’ve been natural for about three years, it still feels like I’m trekking into the unknown with nothing but leave-in, oil and a prayer. I’m not one to shy away from trying new things for you never really know what your hair will like. So it is with great pride that I share with you my experience slathering butter into my head and leaving if for an hour. It’s not as bad as it sounds believe me, but it is sooooo messy so make sure you have a towel around your neck and something to wipe the access off with.

whipped-body-butter-recipe4

Rubbing butter in your hair is an Ethiopian tradition that protects hair from the sun and enriches the hair with moisture. Although it may sound strange, it is an incredibly hydrating treatment that makes hair feel so much softer and look more defined.

Contrary to popular belief, you are NOT supposed to cook the butter before putting in on your hair. In Ethiopia, the butter that comes straight out the cow is what they put on their hair. Nothing else. Since a lot of people don’t have access to fresh cows, the next best option is to buy organic high quality butter like Lurpak.

All you need to do is detangle your hair first, place the butter in a contaner and slap it all over your hair. And I do mean ALL over. Don’t be shy. Make sure your hair has a healthy amount of butter worked into it.  Put on a shower cap, wait for about 30 minutes to an hour and wash it out. Easy!

 

Let me tell you, my curls felt soft and looked ridiculously well defined! I’m going to start doing this method every week because my hair is uber dry! If you don’t have super dry hair, I would stick to doing this method once a month or every two weeks. My hair had no flakes and it made my hair easier to manage and detangle.

My process was as follows:

  1. Section hair and detangle
  2. Apply  butter to hair in scalp gently
  3. Put on shower cap
  4. Let it sit for an hour
  5. Shampoo and condition as usual

 

My recipe is as follows:

  1. Pure organic unsalted butter (Irish Kerry Gold butter is what I’ve been using)
  2. (Optional) Lavender Essential Oil
  3. Grapeseed oil (or oil of your choosing)

 

If you’d like a tutorial, here are some videos to get you started:

5/5 (the results negate the messy application)

 

 

4 thoughts on “I Tried The Ethiopian Butter Treatment in My Hair”

Leave a comment